Today I rise to acknowledge Professor John Freebairn of Diamond Creek who was awarded an AO for distinguished service to education in the field of applied economics. Professor Freebairn has been recognised as contributor in the preparation of the Henry tax review and as an economics specialist for the Productivity Commission, the federal Treasury, the Business Council of Australia and the Committee for Economic Development of Australia, in addition to his work for the universities of Melbourne, Monash and La Trobe, and the Australian National University.

Dr David Pescod of Beveridge was awarded an AO for distinguished service to medicine and to Australia-Mongolia relations. Dr Pescod has undertaken programs to many countries including Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Samoa, Nepal and Mongolia. He is currently the volunteer country coordinator for Mongolia and was awarded the Mongolian Medal of Honour by the Mongolian government. Currently Dr Pescod is the deputy director, anaesthesia and pain management, at the Northern Hospital.

Julienne Tyers of Mernda was awarded an OAM for service to nursing and international eye health programs. Ms Tyers is the founder and chair of Eyes for Africa, a not-for-profit, non-government, non-denominational charitable foundation. Eyes for Africa has provided free sight-restoring surgeries on over 3000 cataracts to restore sight and improve lives and livelihoods and also trains local Ethiopian cataract surgeons and sets them up in remote areas. She established the foundation because she wanted to make a difference by treating preventable blindness and uses her annual leave to lead sight-saving expeditions to Ethiopia.